new music

New Music Friday: Andre 3000, E-40, Paul Wall, J. Cole + Drake, Jay Rock, Lil Wayne x 2 Chainz

New Music Friday: Andre 3000, E-40, Paul Wall, J. Cole + Drake, Jay Rock, Lil Wayne x 2 Chainz

Published Fri, November 17, 2023 at 10:00 AM EST

Andre 3000, New Blue Sun

Andre 3000 has dropped his first solo album ever, New Blue Sun, where ambient sounds rule the day. The eight-track offering is entirely instrumental, so one of Hip-Hop's most brilliant writers offers no bars on this outing. Vibe here.

E-40, Rule of Thumb: Rule 1

E-40 returns with a new album, days after his birthday, Rule of Thumb: Rule 1. The album marks his 27th studio album — fittingly, E-40 is also the solo rapper with the most charting albums on the Billboard 200 in history, with 33. His new offering is the first of a two part release. At 23-tracks, the album — which in typical 40 fashion, is laced with much game— features Bay Area favorite, Larry June, along with NBA Youngboy, and The Click's B-Legit. Mistah F.A.B., who recently spoke at 40's street naming, and Too $hort, who joined forces with 40 for last year's Mount Westmore album, also show up for assists. Listen here.

Paul Wall featuring That Mexican OT, "Covered In Ice"

Paul Wall returns with another single from his forthcoming album via Oiler Mobb/ONErpm. Grills and jewelry are the obvious focal point of the track, as Paul delivers his signature southern drawl over slow-riding, bass heavy production. Paul's new album is out Dec. 15. Listen to "Covered In Ice" here.

J. Cole x Drake "First Person Shooter"

J. Cole and Drake have dropped the cinematic video for their Billboard topping hit, "First Person Shooter." Throughout the video, the pair facing off against one another — in chess, basketball, and even ping-pong in the video opener, which pays homage to the infamous showdown between the characters Jim and Darryl on the hit series The Office (Brian Baumgartner who played Kevin on the show even makes a cameo). Drake and J. Cole have announced plans to hit the road as well. The new leg of Drake'sIt’s All a Blur Tour, now billed asIt’s All a Blur — Big As the What? Tour, will feature Cole on all but four of the dates. The tour kicks off on January 18 in Denver. Watch the video below.

Drake, Scary Hours 3

Drake is back with the third installment of his Scary Hours series, which started back in 2018. The new offering features tracks including “Red Button," “Stories About My Brother," “The Shoe Fits," “Wick Man," and “Evil Ways featuring J.Cole. This marks his second album of the year, the first being the chart-topping For All The Dogs. Listen below.

Lil Wayne x 2 Chainz, Welcome 2 Collegrove

Lil Wayne and 2 Chainz have linked again for a collaborative album, Welcome 2 Collegrove. The project is narrated by 50 Cent, and the 21-track album features previously released singles, “Presha," “Long Story Short," and “Oprah & Gayle” featuring Benny The Butcher. Fabolous, 21 Savage, and Marsha Ambrosius are among the features on the album, which follow's 2016's ColleGrove. Listen here.

Jay Rock x Bongo ByTheWay, "Still That Way"

Jay Rock offers a new track, produced by Bongo ByTheWay, "Still That Way." “Eastside Johnny, pull up with the mob nigga, the real John Gotti / Crawing from the bottom / Blood on my hands, ain’t no dirt on my body / Whip big body / Spin the block, it gon’ be a real big problem," Jay offers on the track. The song is featured on Jay's forthcoming album, Eastside Johnny. Listen below.

Related posts

New Music Friday: KRS-One x Da Beatminerz, Homeboy Sandman, Larry June, Busta Rhymes x Young Thug

Nov 10, 2023

New Music Friday: Benny The Butcher x Lil Wayne, RBX x Project Pat, Dave East x Vado, Megan Thee Stallion, And More

Nov 03, 2023

New Music Friday: Wu-Tang Clan, Nappy Roots, AZ, CYHI x Pusha T, Sheek Louch, Larry June, The Alchemist

Oct 27, 2023

What's new