Def Jam Records Celebrates Its 40th Anniversary With Digital Timeline

Def Jam Records Celebrates Its 40th Anniversary With Digital Timeline

Published Mon, February 19, 2024 at 10:46 AM EST

Def Jam has kicked off its 40th anniversary with a timeline that features an interactive map highlighting the locations where iconic history occurred regarding the iconic label. The timeline starts with T La Rock's game changing 1984 single "It's Yours".

In 1985 Def Jam released its first full-length album, LL COOL J's Radio. The next year the label signed Slick Rick, and later ventured into r&b with its signing of Oran "Juice" Jones, and his hit "The Rain". Heavy metal band Slayer was also signed to the label, and the Beastie Boys debut album Licensed To Ill was released in 1986. In the 1990's the label released groundbreaking albums by Onyx, Redman, Public Enemy, and LL COOL J.

The website's interactive map features landmarks such as nightclubs, neighborhoods and studios that significantly impacted rap music. Highlights include Power Play Studios where "It's Yours" was recorded, Washington Square Park where photographer Glen Friedman captured an iconic image of the Beastie Boys for their debut album, and Roc The Mic Studios where Jay-Z and Alicia Keys recorded "New York State Of Mind". Hunter College where LL COOL J performed one of his first shows is also included.

Check out the website here .

The Oral History of "Mama Said Knock You Out"

Sep 03, 2020

Slick Rick's 'The Great Adventures Of Slick Rick' At 35

Nov 01, 2023

Public Enemy's 'It Takes A Nation of Millions To Hold us Back' At 35

Jun 28, 2023

What's new