AMP version

Royce Da 5'9 Announces New Compilation 'The Heaven Experience Vol. 1'

Royce Da 5'9 Announces New Compilation 'The Heaven Experience Vol. 1'

Royce Da 5'9 is set to release his latest greatest hits compilation, The Heaven Experience Vol. 1. The 15-track project will include highlights from both his mixtapes and albums, spanning his over two decades in the business, including fan favorites like “Hip Hop,” “Tabernacle” and “Caterpillar" featuring Eminem. Earlier this summer, Royce announced he's selling an NFT of "Caterpillar" through blockchain platform Royal, and will offer a percentage of the streaming rights of the song in a limited digital asset.

As for the upcoming compilation, it'll also feature five new songs including collaborations with Black Thought and Big K.R.I.T., and producers Jake One and S1. In addition to the compilation, Royce confirmed that he is working on a new album, a follow-up to his 2020 project, The Allegory, which earned him his first Grammy nomination.

“I’ve been mulling over some ideas,” he told HipHopDX. “I think I know what I’m going to do next project-wise. I don’t necessarily want to say right now just in case it ends up changing. But I have been working in a couple different directions. But, yeah. I’m definitely working on music, especially now that I’m in a better mental space.”

While The Allegory was celebrated for being raw and emotionally open, Royce said he wants to switch things up a bit this go around.

“I don’t want to do another dark album," he said. "That’s what I’m not doing. The world does not need another dark album from anybody. But we don’t always know when we depressed. We don’t know if we suppress them feelings. Like a lot of the ways that I felt during the pandemic, I didn’t really realize it until looking at it in retrospect, really.”

Royce's compilation, The Heaven Experience Vol. 1 is due out Aug. 12. See the tracklist below.

1. Rock City (Rock City)
2. Hip Hop (Death Is Certain)
3. Meeting of the Bosses (Independent’s Day)
4. Shake This (Street Hop)
5. Part of Me (Street Hop)
6. Tabernacle (Layers)
7. Layers f. Rick Ross & Pusha T (Layers)
8. Dead Presidents Heads (Trust the Shooter)
9. Caterpillar f. Eminem (Book of Ryan)
10. I Play Forever f. Grafh (The Allegory)
11. Black Lives Matter f. Big K.R.I.T. (Unreleased)
12. I’m Good (Unreleased)
13. Made (Unreleased)
14. Right Hand f. Black Thought (Unreleased)
15. What a Time f. Courtney Bell (Unreleased)

Related posts

Royce da 5'9

Royce Da 5'9 Debuts NFT, Offers Streaming Rights To "Caterpillar" Featuring Eminem

Jun 24, 2022

Rock the Bells Teams With Artist Jay Shells to Bring 'Rap Quotes' Back to NYC

Jun 27, 2022

Busta Rhymes and Spliff Star attend Pass The Mic Concert at Hard Rock Hote - Times Square on May 12, 2022 in New York City. (Photo by Shareif Ziyadat/Getty Images)

Busta Rhymes, ONYX, Havoc, and Large Professor Join Rock the Bells Festival

Jul 14, 2022

What's new